Morty’s Comedy Joint Open Mic

Morty’s is a local comedy icon in Indy that, to me, reeks of legitimacy.  They’ve been around for what seems like forever and they are pretty well established.  Because of this I was over the moon when they answered my random Facebook message about photography.  I’m still in that timid stage in which I feel my photos are good… better than the average dude with a cell phone… but not all that great.  So it’s hard for me to feel like I should actually get a response to my inquiries.

Here’s our opener.  Nice enough dude seemingly.

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic First real act, we get this dude. He’s not terribly memorable except to say that he seems like several college roommates I had. 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic This dude had character. And I’m not just saying that because he sent me a message asking if he could buy the photos I took. 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

This dude was the epitome of comedic poses and expression.

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

This young woman played her part well…

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

This gentleman was exceptionally hilarious. Despite his obvious physical shortcomings he had a lot to say about the culture as a whole.

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic This youngster tried hard and has good potential. 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

And so many more followed…

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic 2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

2016 Mortys Comedy Joint Open Mic

The thing I regret is that I had not nearly the guts to approach each of these people to at least hand out my card. As I heard from the owner later, many of them would love a good headshot for publicity. Sadly I couldn’t quite bring myself to approach any of them at the time. At least in part it was because of uncertainty about the lighting situation. (They had quite a bit of trouble getting the spot to work). Next time I’ll charge up to the front and greet the lot…. maybe…. if I don’t totally chicken out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Please leave a comment!

