A Plethora of Potential Pulchritude

Looking over my blog domain this evening I realize that it’s been a fairly long time since I’ve posted anything anywhere. As of late I’ve been more focused on consuming the world than contributing to it. Put another way, blame my bookshelf for the silence.

This is not to say that I didn’t do anything. When Sunday reared its unwelcome head alerting us to the all-too-rapidly-approaching beginning of the workweek, I found myself rather worn. Productivity did not escape me this weekend though this blog and its partners would be a poor demonstration of that truth. Let us start in the realm of the moving and make our way to that of the more static.

For a while I’ve had this niggling desire to go out and do the rather cliche act of time-lapsing the stars. On Saturday night the quality of dark coincided with the clearness of the sky and I was able to do exactly that. I find these examples rather … well, uninteresting, but they are reasonable demonstrations of the art. Best viewed in 1080p full-screen.

Moving on to Sunday I took myself unto the park there to feast my eyes upon the masses. I was verily stunned by the number of people who stop and ask questions of you when you’re sitting next to a camera that clicks every second. Fully half a dozen groups stopped to get the 30-second primer on what in the world I was doing out in the park. I’m very tempted to print up some flyers.

At any rate, those really interested can go check out my YouTube channel.

There were also a few random stills to pull out of the air. Check the whole album here for those more interested in pixels than paragraphs but remember the standard speech. Use, download, share, whatever. Just don’t profit by it. yadda, yadda, yadda.

Eagle Creek park was the destination yesterday and I have to admit that while other people enjoy spring because the flowers come out I enjoy spring because the bugs come out. The first bug of the season is this brown shield bug known in the vernacular as the stink bug because of it’s abhorrent personal grooming habits.

From Misc 03-11-2012

Insects weren’t the only critters out and about. Turtles sunned themselves literally by the dozen.

From Misc 03-11-2012
From Misc 03-11-2012

The Ornithology center also boasts a couple of very fierce birds. This shot looks all artsy and composed until you realize that the bars are so close together that it’s the only unobstructed shot I could get. Rather annoying.

From Misc 03-11-2012

Yeah, flowers, who gives a hoot. More bugs please.

From Misc 03-11-2012

I’ll admit that I have no idea what this sport is called. Paddle surfing maybe? Looks rather…. unbalanced.

From Misc 03-11-2012

There are a few spots in this park that just don’t … really… fit…. together. It’s very much a city park with only a thin skin of nature on top.

From Misc 03-11-2012

Also, for the first time in a REALLY long time I drug along someone who was not Laura to take pictures. You can tell that Scott’s really focused on his work here.

From Misc 03-11-2012

A few black and white shots are sprinkled in here… for some reason they just seemed correct. These two look to be the very archetype of a relaxed Sunday afternoon on the water.

From Misc 03-11-2012

And this bit of road is just delightful. Kept fully three versions of this. One in B&W, one in sepia and one in color. If that doesn’t say “I like this” then I don’t know what will.

From Misc 03-11-2012

Scott had a bit of excess energy to get rid of…

From Misc 03-11-2012

Not really a picture of much of anything but I like it none the less. I’m fairly certain that I took this just as I was giving Scott the lecture that starts with the words, “pictures are free… if you even THINK it’ll be any good take it! You can always delete it later.” All this as I pointed my camera rather randomly into the sky and clicked the shutter. *shrug*

From Misc 03-11-2012

As I traipsed back to the car, this guy was hanging his head out the window. No idea why the owner was just sitting in the car rather than letting this handsome ball of energy go romp around.

From Misc 03-11-2012

Last but not least, on Saturday night we took the kids out to the see the moon rise over the bog. Something about the big ole moon hanging pendulous against the horizon.

From Misc 03-11-2012
From Misc 03-11-2012

And that’s the weekend that was.

25 Comments

Filed under Indianapolis, Landscape photography, nature Photography, night photography

25 responses to “A Plethora of Potential Pulchritude

  1. Boy, oh boy, for one in the mode of consumption, you sure turned around and gave! Great pictures – thanks!

  2. Definitely a plethora of photos! Great shots!

  3. The woman on what looks to be a surfboard is Stand Up Paddleboarding, or SUP. It is supposed to be great exercise from what I’ve been told, since you’re using almost all your muscles to maintain your balance. I’ll stick to my canoe and kayak.

  4. What a great collection of photos. I love the time lapse, especially at night..

  5. Cathy

    It just goes to show that you don’t have to travel far to get great pictures. I have to remember to take my camera out with me on my walks. Thanks to quietsolopursuits for the name of this new sport – I saw someone out on English Bay doing this the other day. The guy I saw must have been very confident as he looked to be in street clothes, so he didn’t think he’d fall into the water or maybe he stole the board. I like my water transport to have higher sides than this too, like in sailboats.

  6. A very interesting post, thank you.

  7. Rob, I like those moon shots, and also the turtle, bird and dog photos (OK, maybe I’m partial to animals). The sport you couldn’t name is called “stand-up paddle boarding” and it’s all the rage. As a more traditional kayaker, I don’t really get it, I confess – I prefer sitting down on the job. 🙂

  8. I loved the time-lapse night time skies. The stars were amazing! Cliche?! How can the greatest view we could possibly experience here on Earth ever be cliche?!

  9. Kate Bax

    stunning photos!

  10. These are fan-bloody-tastic, Rob, I’ve looked twice now, love them. Well done.

  11. Great shot of the eagle, love the time lapse stuff as well. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  12. As always, good collection of photos.

  13. I especially love the moon photos!

  14. apb148

    I just wanted you to know that I nominated you for a versatile blogger award. Check out my post “I am honored”.

  15. Saw a link to your blog on Nia’s site. This post is an eclectic delight! The people in the park time-lapse videos remind me of ants; the Eagle Creek Park photos are vibrant snapshots of the life you found there; and you ended with a dog hanging over a moon (or two). A great post.

    John R.: http://TheDailyGraff.com

  16. Even if I were to blame your bookshelf, it’s a good kind of blame.

  17. Nice shots 🙂 and I shall check out your youtube channel. I like star time-lapse videos because I enjoy the reminder that we’re sitting on a rotating rock :p

  18. You have a plethora of photographic passions;and you take cool pictures as well.I especially liked you advice “…you can always delete it later “.Thanks for the Easter present and thanks for stopping by.

  19. You have a plethora of photographic passions and you take great pictures as well.I especially like your advice “….you can always delete it later”.Thanks for the Easter present and thanks for stopping by.

  20. What a pleasure there is for me in finding a photographer who also enjoys language.

Please leave a comment!

