What I did on my President’s Day Vacation

Greetings and Salutations from that most reverent of holidays, President’s day. Unlike the majority of the population I had the day off in honor of our four-score forefathers so of course I spent it taking some photos. The black carrion crows of sloth did not circle around me on this day.

From 2012-02-20

Though they did circle a bit around this dead badger(?) I found in the woods. Finding animals to photograph has always been a challenge for me. I don’t feel like I’m particularly in tune with the tread of the native fauna. I do, however, have a knack for finding former fauna.

From 2012-02-20

Small game aside, the real highlights of the day were to be found at 7 o’clock this morning. I found my way to the top of a parking garage and watched the sunrise.

And a bit of traffic.

And that’s the day that was.  How did you entertain your fine selves?

22 Comments

Filed under Lafayette, Landscape photography

22 responses to “What I did on my President’s Day Vacation

  1. Very nice, Rob!! I’ve really been enjoying your time lapse photography – the sunrise one here is beautiful!!

  2. thesweetkitten

    I spent my day exploring another beautiful part of Denmark šŸ™‚

  3. I would have liked to search for wild and dangerous wildlife in the Everglades or 4 wheeled through the burning sugar cane fields to the north today. Or hung out in the wetland areas of the Loxahatchee, but no, I’m busy at work today trying to make a living which in some cases is even more dangerous and exciting than being up to your navel in alligators. Happy President’s Day.

  4. That time-lapsed sunrise was pretty darn cool! Thank you for sharing it with us.

  5. As you spend more and more time out with the native faune, you’ll learn when they are out and about, where, sometimes even why!

  6. That’s a great shot of the raven! Also, you had a ? next to the badger.. is it a raccoon? That’s what I thought when I saw the photo šŸ™‚

  7. Loved what I think are chimneys start puffing out smoke right before the sun came up…..that is what that was, right?

  8. love crows, they are very intelligent
    thanks for share

  9. Sunrise time lapse is awesome. Especially like the chimney smoke: nice touch!

    Carinaragno ^ is right: crows are very smart. Anyone interested should check out the NOVA special (from about a year ago) on crows. Also there is a video on you tube (sorry I didn’t look up the link) of crows sledding down a snowy roof. Absolutely amazing to watch. The audio sounds like it is in an Eastern European language, but you don’t need to understand the soundtrack!

  10. Timm Huffman

    Nice post. Love the sunrise especially

  11. Hi Rob from all of us here in the Fluffy Tufts Den!
    We wanted you to know that we have nominated you for the “Awesome Blog Content” Award!
    You can read about it here: http://fluffytufts.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/awesome-blog-content-award-how-exciting/
    We love your photography! šŸ™‚

  12. Thanks for liking my recent blog post “Let the light into your consciousness!” Glad to see you had a great holiday weekend šŸ™‚

  13. Hi!
    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog that’s why I’m nominating you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it here: http://ilovesunsetsbythesea.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/my-first-versatile-blogger-award/.
    Congratulations!
    ~ ilovesunsetsbythesea

  14. Love that video of the sunrise! Especially when the sun pops up over the horizon, it was surprising & beautiful. šŸ™‚

  15. Interesting collection of work. Lovely. The dead badger was a somewhat ghoulish addition and beautiful in its own right. hmm, I shall pop back for more! c

  16. As usual, great post with great photo`s.

  17. Ever see Koyaanisqatsi? Let me know if not and I’ll ‘borry it to ya’. I was going to suggest traffic time lapses like that — always cool!

    • never done heard of it ’til you JUST mentioned it.

      • I guess it was made in 1983 — longer ago than I realized — but it’s such a one-of-a-kind… (except for its 2 sequels) I have to call it a classic, for lack of a better term… Not ‘classic’ because it’s popular and well known obviously, but more ‘classic’ like the Iliad — maybe thought of as ‘important’… at least by both people who still know about it… Yeah, can’t come up with a good word for why you should see this. But you will soon have the opportunity!

      • Lots of great time lapses in it for one…

  18. Oh yes I dig the sunrise.

Please leave a comment!

