Indy Insanity on Super Bowl Eve

Last we night we made our way downtown yet again. This was my fourth trip down and at the end of it all a bit of quick math reveals that I’ve spent 18 hours downtown photographing the city in the past week or so. I often kick myself for not getting off my butt and trying to involve myself in local events. I can’t really berate myself for that in this case.

Yesterday’s focus was on people just doing what they do. The theme was set within 30 seconds of walking out of the parking garage as I found this lonely figure somehow by herself when only a few hundred feet away the crowds were packed shoulder to shoulder.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

The Super Bowl is an incredibly complicated thing to put on. The city goes to a huge amount of trouble to entertain the hundreds of thousands of visitors who come downtown. Yet in the middle of all it, this young woman enjoys the simple pleasure of tromping through the puddles in her waterproof boots. While the photo doesn’t mean much without the story, it was an amusing counterpoint to the vastness of the situation.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

Not everybody was happy to see the crowds.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

And it was good that we got to see some of the archetypal figures from our visiting fans. This guy just SCREAMS “New Yawker” to me.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

I’ve seen these things advertised but this is the first proof that anyone actually buys them…

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

This series is by far my favorite. A news crew had found themselves a story in the form of this football-headed guy who needed tickets.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

This is the guy who was doing the interview. I love his expression.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

And the cameraman seemed really glad to have someone taking HIS picture for a change.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

I couldn’t help but notice the prevalence of these bottle-cans of beer. Is this a successful attempt at last to overcome the stigma of beer in cans? Anyway, these two enjoyed their photo op with Mr. Football.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

We spoke with this young gentleman briefly. He says he’s going to be in the NFL some day. For some reason I tend to believe him.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

After about a 40 minute wait, we managed to take some photos from the top of the downtown monument.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

By the time we got done, the crowds had reached fever pitch.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

Considering the sheer numbers of people downtown, the place was still miraculously clean. Sure there were some full trashcans but the place was far from as trashed as you might expect. The work crews did an incredible job picking up after everyone.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

It’s at this point that I have to tell you that Laura leads a bit of a charmed life. I give her 100% credit that we were able to just walk in to a restaurant and have a nice meal.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

When we returned to the circle after dinner, we found some rather small-minded people in evidence. They needed police protection to keep from getting mobbed by the crowd.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl
From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl
From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl
From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

But it was very encouraging to see another person of religious bent telling a more forgiving story.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

Many people refine the art of self-portraiture on this day.

From Insane Indy – Night before the Super Bowl

And with that, we close the day and we close the Super Bowl. It was a grand time to be in Indy but I’ll be glad to get on to some other topic for a while. Also, a few have asked about downloading higher res versions of these photos. You can do so on my Picasa page. Click on one of the albums to see the photos in it and when you select one image to view you can choose an option to either download a copy or order prints. Picasa’s navigation isn’t particularly intuitive. Also, I don’t make any money from this so download, share and enjoy but don’t YOU make any money from it lest the giant wheel of karma crush you like a bug.

35 Comments

Filed under Indianapolis, Oddities, portraiture

35 responses to “Indy Insanity on Super Bowl Eve

  1. Mr. Grumpy looks like Bill Cosby trying to blend in with the crowd.

  2. Thanks for sharing the madness Rob, we’re all living vicariously through you and your work! GO GIANTS!!!

  3. They’re all great — my favorites are “Simple Pleasures” and “Try Not to Laugh.”

  4. Food Forays

    I really enjoyed this! Felt almost like I was there seeing it with you! Really loved your interpretations of the photos also… great job!

  5. Wow! Really fascinating pictures! You have a great eye for capturing the moment- well done!

  6. rose

    Thanks for sharing! I have been scouring news online and have found the best of what is really going on here on wordpress πŸ™‚

  7. Excellent post/photos! Feel like I’ve been there.

  8. PS: Sent it on to Twitter.

  9. I really am enjoying your photography! Thanks!

  10. Great slice of American life, I particularly liked the real Christian one. We don’t have that very public religious fanaticism in the UK, I find it fascinating.

  11. Mr Mole

    like the no 1 picture best

  12. I have a fellow feeling for Mr Grumpy. You have him wrong, he’s not grumpy, he contemplative. I’m often very contemplative.

  13. Sometimes Indianapolis seems like a very staid place. It’s so good to see diversity and complexity instead. You capture a very different side of the city than I usually see. Thanks!

  14. Mike Roberts

    Good stuff Rob. Nice to see something other than what the media’s been dishing up. All the best.

  15. I didn’t know you could go up into the monument! I have driven by that thing over 100 times and had no clue. I’m usually looking at the horses and carriages instead of the monument itself, or the traffic that doesn’t know how to use a roundabout. We avoided Indy all together for the last week and will continue to do so – too crazy! Loved your pictures, I felt like I was there and I never had to leave the comfort of my home. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, the hours are a bit constricted but you can do it. Mostly during the week. Amusingly, the stairs, all 331 of them, are free. If you want the elevator you have to buy a ticket for a dollar. I’ve been up the stairs.. they’re… REALLY good exercise!

  16. WOWEEEEEEE!! those are spectacular!!!

  17. You take some awesome photos dude!

  18. Urgh … I hate those ignorant protesters with no limit. Silly words are scribbled on their placards. Geez, have a sense if you want to be heard.

    Hey post the water splatters like the one on you fb page. πŸ˜‰

  19. Love these pictures! I was there all weekend- you really did capture the atmosphere of downtown Indy! Nice job! (And I got into it with one of the “street preachers”- it wasn’t pretty. I’m a Christian and it kills me to see people like that give us a bad name! Christians are about LOVE- not hate!)

  20. I love all of these! I especially love “All alone”. Captivating!! Great work!

Please leave a comment!

