Indy by Night… More or Less Ignoring the Super Bowl

Last night we all went downtown to see the sights but I made an effort to ignore as much as possible the fact that there was some sort of event going on. This was basically an attempt to get the art back into my photography rather than shooting pictures that would be better suited for an encyclopedia. I leave it to you the viewer to tell me how I did.

So Super Bowl or not, you pretty much just HAVE to go to the top of any available parking garage to shoot downward.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

As photos go, this is among the less intentional but when I first saw this on my monitor I was rather freaked out. The layers upon layers of images were rather confusing.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

Near the State Museum, a small bridge crosses the canal. It’s liberally lighted at night.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

The canal…

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

And you can never go wrong walking down the street with the shutter open at f/22. Well, you can, but it’s always interesting though a bit cliche.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

Yes, yes, blast it, yes, it’s the Thermal plant AGAIN but I still like it. Especially in black and white. And the lights in the background work for me too.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

This is at least the third time I’ve shot these spires just down the street from Lucas Oil. The first time though that it was from the top of the neighboring garage.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

Super-Fan dude was out yet again; note the contrast in expressions. She’s about to bounce off the walls and he looks like all he wants to do is go to bed. I think that sometimes we forget that there’s a person under the costume who might just want to sit down once every 6 or 7 hours.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

Best view in the house…

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

I’ll bet the anonymous homeless won’t be on any of the TV coverage.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

And this girl riding high on her boyfriend’s shoulders is the counterpoint to the previous picture.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

This amuses me in sepia only because of the apparent anachronism.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

And one last leftover photo from tonight’s sunset. I’m amused by the symmetry.

From Indy Night Downtown – 2-1-2012

And that’s the night that was… and a tiny bit of another night.

24 Comments

Filed under Indianapolis, night photography

24 responses to “Indy by Night… More or Less Ignoring the Super Bowl

  1. Fabulous post! They’re all great shots, but the one with all the different images in one is really interesting. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for the Like. I hope to see you there again soon!

  2. The spires were my favorite…

  3. Rob…great shots….I like all the diversity. The last one is gorgeous…I love reflections…and this one is just perfect. The multiple exposure is cool. In the first one, I’m really taken with the sky. Awesome. The river is very neat too…. Excellent post!

  4. Wow, great photos! Loved especially the second one with the layers, and the one with the Madonna posters (I’m just using that to ID the photo), that one has a wonderful vibe/feel to it.

  5. I left the shutter open at night during a plane landing once… sometimes it’s just fun to play around! πŸ™‚

  6. gweaverii

    I love the excitement of different exposures, colors, composition in these photographs. The’re truly wonderful.

  7. The last one fascinated me. Thank you, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  8. I thoroughly enjoyed the “non-Super Bowl” tour of Indy. I agree the homeless population probably won’t make the sports celebration news. The layered picture of the guitarist, window observer, etc. was a real treat! Thanks for sharing.

  9. nice shots. Also – glad to hear someone else ignored the superbowl – πŸ˜‰

  10. Pretty awesome night shots! Do you use a tripod + a normal zoom lens? Or do you use a fix focal length lens to get those results?

  11. Lovely shots!

    Ignoring is exactly what I will be doing with the Olympics in the summer. I’m good at that – and I can’t say that very often πŸ™‚

  12. Puddin

    Like several of the others commenting, I loved that last shot of the sunset. I don’t know anything about photography, but the symmetry is beautiful.

  13. Rob, I love that your shots are so different from one another – it really shows an artistic range. Nice!

  14. Thermal plant that dark looks like the paddle wheeler steamer showboat from hell, steaming up the River Styx. …or is it all a Grand Illusion. lol.

    Mixing metaphors in a blender over here.

  15. Filipino Festival

    Reblogged this on FilipinoFestival.com.

  16. Nobody else commented on your BEST shot of the night “Best seat in the house” – that’s my son-in-law and grandson looking you in the lens!!!
    Unbelievable surprise to run across your blog and see them!
    Random happens so much more often than we expect….
    Nice to find another Indy area shooter. My blog & a similar shot.
    http://dadartphotography.wordpress.com/
    Super Bowl XLVI__DAD6102_1

  17. Pingback: Coincidence Again « DADart Photography

  18. Jeff and Joyce Bulow

    Duane “commented on your BEST shot of the night ‘Best seat in the house’ – that’s my son-in-law and grandson looking you in the lens!!! ” Thank you. To “complete the picture” that’s my son and grandson looking you in the lens from a 6’7″ advantage. ‘Best seat in the house’ indeed!
    Thanks for the picture from Syracuse NY.

Please leave a comment!

