Ready for Liftoff

I remember well the day in July of last year when I took this photo. After half an hour of chasing dragonflies around with a macro lens this shot was more relaxed as I caught my breath a bit and pondered what horrible microbes might be festering in the bottom of my shoe so recently filled with swamp water.

Ready for Liftoff

Ready for Liftoff

Call me old-fashioned, but I couldn’t help but think of old Navy Corsairs waiting to take off from the deck of an aircraft carrier.

22 Comments

Filed under Indiana, nature Photography

22 responses to “Ready for Liftoff

  1. Lucky you. Dragonflies are few and far between here in San Diego. I think I’ve seen two in my eighteen years here. Now I have seen a lot of Navy Corsairs here! LOL

  2. As an old Navy (USN) guy I appreciate your Corsair reference,, However I’m thinking the “Sky 5” chopper taking off to cover rush hour traffic..Or a high-speed chase

  3. I like that Corsair analogy, and I got a good laugh about the microbe bit.

  4. Good capture and well done for being so persistent and ‘hunting’ for the right shot..

  5. --Rick

    Reblogged this on Let's Get Political and commented:
    I love the reference to Navy Corsairs and Carriers [targets in submarine lingo], but I also find myself amazed at the macro photography displayed via this website and simply feel compelled to share it with a wider audience. Please give the site a visit and go to the gallery section. I doubt that you will be even the slightest bit disappointed. Very well done!

  6. --Rick

    Exceptional macro work…this post is terrific, but the entire site is a must see. Thank you for sharing your art and skill.

  7. A red dragonfly? Very cool. I see a lot of big green ones around here in the summer.

  8. I was just snooping through your blog. What great photography!

  9. Beautiful photo and I feel for you regarding your trek through the swamp and those lurking microbes! Can’t wait to see more!

  10. I’ve been know to track dragonflies as well in search of a good photo.

  11. Great shot. You have some lovely photos.

  12. Very nice, got it at that precise moment, good shot.

  13. I see what you mean. Just like any navy’s carrier aircraft waiting on the catapult. A great shot as well.

  14. I’be never seen one that Color …..lovely!

  15. cds

    this is awesome. the detail in the wings . . . seriously. i love. my hubs and father-in-law both fly, and i totally get the corsair reference. lovely imagery.

  16. Reblogged this on The View Through My Lens and commented:
    This shot is a fantastic use of patience and skill!

  17. A red dragonfly! You even caught with extraordinary precision the gauze of its wings. The plant it is on is caught really well too.

  18. That is a really good capture! The details are really good. I guess you wasn’t to exhausted after running around in the swamp when the picture got that sharp!

Please leave a comment!

