Misc Photos for 9th through 18th

I must admit that I’ve been… well, a bit uninspired lately.  I’ve gone out three times under the somewhat obnoxious weather conditions we’ve enjoyed recently and managed only a few shots even remotely worth keeping. I’m falling behind my photography goal for the year. At any rate, as usual you can skip my babble and just see the photos here.

A few days ago I traipsed around the Celery Bog for a bit looking for … well, anything. There were a few small mammals but that’s really it.

Winter Squirrel 041

Yesterday treated me a bit better. As I was driving home my instinct told me that the sunset was probably going to be too good to miss.

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Going mysteriously back in time to the 9th, I found myself on the top of a large hill waiting for the moon to rise. Funny, when they say moonrise is at 7:15… well, let’s just say that you can show up at 7:30 and be OK.

Sunset 005

Orion 076

And when the moon finally DID show up, I got the exposure wrong. My slow shutter speed theory just left me warbling a bit but it’s an interesting effect.

Winter Moon 102

And that’s the… over a week that was.

39 Comments

Filed under Art photography, Indianapolis, nature Photography, night photography, Zionsville

39 responses to “Misc Photos for 9th through 18th

  1. Dan

    The winter moon photo is great, all credit to the theory.

    It looks like quite a spectacular week you’ve had, I need to get out and about a bit more during the early morning. Really nice set of images.

  2. Cin

    Love the sunsets! And I understand. There is something about Jan that always leaves me feeling uncreative, but I still think you got some great shots. πŸ™‚

    The moon is interesting with the fuzziness. Makes me want to pet it. πŸ™‚

  3. Looks a pretty good output for a fallow fe days. Nice shots Rob.

  4. I love sunset photography. Great work. I wish I was closer to the gulf down here in Florida.

  5. I particularly like the photo labelled ‘More Dusk’. I love the reflection of the trees in the patches of water (on the road?)! The shot of the moon is also quite cool. It reminds me of old scary movies when the moon rises, the wolf howls and chaos strikes! Haha

  6. Nandini

    Wow, Rob! πŸ™‚ I loved the winter moon. Fantastic picture. I also liked the sereneness in your sunset shots. πŸ™‚

  7. Rob, these are great; esp. the sunset, just beautiful. I’m sharing a haiku/image I posted that you may enjoy: http://lscotthoughts.com/2012/01/06/desert-beauty-haiku. I’m not a photographer, but love taking photos; hope you enjoy! πŸ™‚

  8. Really like the wiggly moon photo — looks like through heat haze. The sunsets are very good too; I especially like where the trees reflect in the water broken by ice. And Orion really seems to loom at that zoom. Boom!

  9. You may be feeling uninspired, but your images are beautiful. I particularly liked the tranquility captured by “Rosey-Fingered Dusk” and the trees reflected in “More Dusk.”

    Thanks for visiting my blog and “liking” my post about gratitude. I hope you stop by again sometime!

  10. I’m going to be the weirdo who comments on the squirrel photo. It’s fantastic — I love the way you captured the subtle gradations in its coat and the play of light and shadow over its face, body, and tail. You also caught a sense of impending action — pretty tough when you’re shooting something as jumpy as a squirrel.

    The other shots are fantastic as well — I particularly like the first sunset one — but the squirrel really grabbed me.

  11. I thought the moon shot was amazing – it reminded me of pictures of what the sun looks like close up, with all the gaseous vapours rising off it.

  12. My favorite is “More Dusk.” Great reflections and shapes contrasted with the light/dark tones.

  13. Love your pics. Thanks for the “Like” on my blog.
    T.A.

  14. The sunsets are beautiful, each in its own way. And the Winter Moon shot is very interesting. I like it! Thanks for sharing your pics, and your thoughts.

  15. Eliza

    That last photo is breathtaking! I love how the trees are a part of the moon.

  16. Your dusk photos are sooo beautiful! πŸ™‚

  17. earlybird

    The dusk photos are quite beautiful and I love the fuzzy moon with the tracery of branches.

  18. Wow. The winter moon photo is so special!

  19. Love the dusk photographs, colors are amazing!

  20. The picture of Orion is positively striking. Awesome composition! And the sunsets! We get great sunsets at my dad’s house where I grew up and I miss them everytime I leave. Thanks!

  21. I love this set esp. it somewhat has a concept than most of your sets.

  22. Val

    It’s the colours that get me, but then they would as I’m an artist. I love the deep blues, and the oranges of the setting sun – and that squirrel with his (her?) nut.

  23. It’s beautiful…Isn’t it wonderful how amazing the world is when you take time to see it?

  24. Serene and beautiful. “More Dusk” particularly hits me – reminds me of countless winter sunset trips along the road in Massachusetts.

  25. Love all the pics, i am always looking for something else to paint, could I ‘borrow’ one to have a go at painting it, please? the sunsets are amazing.
    Thanks for popping by my blog, love reading about other people too..M

  26. Your pictures are gorgeous
    love what you do

  27. I like the sunset shots in particular.

  28. srbanks

    The Orion shot and the moon shot are wonderful!

  29. Aren’t sunsets just the best thing! I love your squirrel too. Thanks for dropping by my blog and liking it. Our day’s sailing was simply fantastic fun

  30. The winter moon photo with the tracery of branches from trees etched into the round shape of golden light is wonderful.

  31. I ;ike your photaghraphy, it would be cool if you could take a picture of the Super Bowl.

  32. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    amazing shot of the moon!

Please leave a comment!

