Wabash River Environs – April 17, 2011

Last April the 17th, Laura and I traipsed down to the Wabash just to poke around and see what could possibly be seen.ย  The full album of results can be found here (link) but I’ll hit a few of the highlights below.

The pickings were initially a bit slim. I did come across the abandoned exoskeleton of an insect clinging to a tree as it leaned out over the river. Much of the other interesting fare had apparently been swept off by some recent flooding in the area.

From 2011-04-17

Luckily though, my ever-vigilant Laura did happen across a large patch of mushrooms. This particular patch was thickly populated and in that sort of semi-decayed state of a mushroom past its prime. The sort of sticky oozing appearance here lends even more grimness than would usually be associated with the decay that underlies any mushroom patch.

From 2011-04-17

If you’ve seen Laura’s pictures from this day you’ll note that there aren’t really many representatives from this area. That would be because of the hoard of tiny, hungry spiders like this one that policed the area.

From 2011-04-17

The find of the day, however, was this tiny slug that was making his way around the mushroom patch. These slimy denizens of the forest primeval have always fascinated me. I gently poked at this one for a while watching his tiny antennae retract shyly under my prodding only to magically reappear once he decided it was time to move on again.

From 2011-04-17

Laura pointed out on the way that the fields we passed were covered with tiny pinkish/purplish flowers of some sort. On closer inspection, these proved to be quite photogenic. As yet I’ve not been able to identify them but I’m sure they’re common and known to anyone truly in the know on such things. They look much bigger in the photo, of course, but in reality they’re less than a quarter of an inch in length.

At one point we found ourselves on the Davis Ferry Bridge. Being a cold and windy day, there was little really in evidence save for a plethora of spiderwebs. These vibrated in the wind like so many harp strings.

From 2011-04-17

Our last photo of the day pays sad memorial to a sad bug who met his fate in one of those sad, sticky harp strings. For the record, dead insects are a lot easier to photograph than live ones. Though tragic in their own way.

From 2011-04-17
19 Comments

Filed under Lafayette, macro photography, nature Photography

19 responses to “Wabash River Environs – April 17, 2011

  1. destrudowoman

    wonderful images! I adore macros…still learning…

  2. Nice. The flower is fabulous – and I can’t identify it either.

  3. Awesome photography…thanks for visiting my site, and I’m so glad your visit led me to yours. I’m partial to Indiana, after all…IU-B grad ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Fascinating flower…great shots

  5. rose

    The flower is fantastic. And I detest slugs. I let the kids pour salt on them and melt them. They eat my garden.

  6. Wonderful photos! I’ve had my share of arachnophobia, but have matured in my “older” age, so viewing the spider was tolerable! I can actually see the beauty in their webs now, but too bad, for the unfortunate bug! I can also understand how dead bugs are easier to photograph then live ones! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Decaying into an inky, gooey mass is a characteristic of a genus of mushrooms known as Coprinus, often called “ink caps”. One species of them, the shaggy mane, found on unkept lawns in the fall, is very good to eat, but must be picked soon after the mushroom emerges and eaten soon after that. Another curious species of Coprinus is the mushroom known as the “Tippler’s Bane”. If you have no alcohol in your system, these are tasty edibles, but if you’ve enjoyed an alcoholic beverage and then eaten some Tippler’s Bane, you will be sick. There are many more varieties.
    The mushrooms in the genus Coprinus seem to dissolve into puddles of black ink. This process is known as deliquescence, and this is how these mushrooms spread their spores, unlike many other mushrooms that drop their spores through gills or pores or teeth.

  8. denverlori

    I love the snail!! btw.. you are very brave.. I would have run away screaming like a girl at some of those arachnids!!

  9. A wonderful exploration. Thank you for sharing so simply. Great pictures.

  10. Please accept my passing of The Candle Lighter Award to Rob Slaven Photography. Seeing the world through your lens is a joy! You can read about The Candle Lighter at growthlines.wordpress.com/.

  11. Katie C

    **Love** the photo of the flowers! You have an amazing talent. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  12. Tanya at RockstarVanity

    Those photos are gorgeous and you have my respect for getting that close to the bugs!

  13. Great shot of the slimy slug. And I love, love the mystery flower! FYI, the Wabash passes by Terre Haute (used to live there, now just work there)

  14. ignatiusjeffreilly

    Great photos…but I HATE bugs…LOL

Please leave a comment!

