Indianapolis at Night – January 5, 2011

I’ve read somewhere (about 10,000 times or so) that to get really good at something you have to do it for 10,000 hours. So if I want to “get good” at this photograph thing (however in the WORLD you define that) I need to do it about 38 hours a week for the next five years or so. Sounds easy enough! Right!?? So as a consequence I determined that I’d stop downtown on the way home and putter around for a couple of hours. Two hours walking around downtown with a camera, here are the results. As usual, anyone wanting to just see the pics can do so here. You can also download high-res versions and use them for your personal needs to your heart’s content.

There’s a parking garage right across the street from the capitol building. Here’s the view from the 9th floor. Here’s where all the taxes go! Though I’ve heard that most the money goes to changing those flags WAAAAAY up there at the top.

Statehouse

Statehouse

I always love these views and and in the dark it’s even better.

Top of the World, Ma!

Top of the World, Ma!

Wandering down to the Soldier’s and Sailor’s monument, I half expected the lights to be down but was amused to find they were still in effect. As the “world’s largest Christmas-type-shape” it’s fairly amusing. They call it a Christmas Tree but really… I don’t see much evidence of a tree… Tiny moon in evidence above the monument.

World's Largest Christmas Shape

World's Largest Christmas Shape

My, it IS a big Christmas Shape!

My, it IS a big Christmas Shape!

Also the world’s largest Christmas bokeh! For some reason using the word bokeh makes me feel…. rather emasculated. It’s like wearing your wife’s furry pink slippers because you can’t find your own. I think I’ll replace it with a more masculine term, something like “blurry shit.” “Hey Rob, what you taking pictures of?” “Oh, just some blurry shit. *manly grunt*” That’s better.

World's Largest Christmas Blurry Shit

World's Largest Christmas Blurry Shit

Walking around the monument I rather assumed that people just couldn’t go tread about up there but I was pleasantly surprised to find that you can, in fact, really get up there and look up. Rather reminded me of when I was a kid squeezing down under grandma’s tree and looking up. Pity the tree is plastic in that memory… Come to think of it, that tree wasn’t all that tree-like either.

Under the Christmas-Shape!

Under the Christmas-Shape!

Also some good views of the skyline to be had from the state employee parking garage.

Skyline ... um, Hey, how about some Focus!

Skyline ... um, Hey, how about some Focus!

Ah, much better

Ah, much better

It also overlooks Victory Fie in the other direction.

Victory Fie

Victory Fie

The Moon is CONSTANTLY in the way…

The Horns of the Bull

The Horns of the Bull

Union Station is a real hunk o’ rock. It’s on my TODO list to go inside tripod in hand during the day.

Union Station

Union Station

And so ended the night-time odyssey for the fifth of January.

52 Comments

Filed under Art photography, Indianapolis, Landscape photography, night photography, sports photography, Urban Photography

52 responses to “Indianapolis at Night – January 5, 2011

  1. Good use of the term “blurry shit”. Wow, my Summilux gives my shots incredible blurry shit. Yup, I can see that in the Leica handbook.

  2. I especially like the blurry out of focus imagine!! (jk!!!) Lovely shots though, the crisp clarity of the non blurry images spoke chill to me – and where I am, chill at this time of year is much prized. When I snap the odd picture or seversl dozen, it is done out of love. I find I want to capture someone or a memory and I find 1 out of each approximately 10 is useable. Honestly I am nowhere near “serious” about my photography – tat would be more that which I write or paint. Thanks for visiting my humble blog. 🙂

  3. Wow! Really nice images. I adore the under the Christmas shape photo. The angle is awesome. Night photography is fun. You live in a beautiful place.

  4. So I click on the link in the email I received all in anticipation to see Indy. Then your page pops up… and I’m staring right in to the eyes (I think) of that “thing” in your banner! Ummmm… that is NOT Indy! Heehee 🙂

    LOVE your pix of the city. Was there for Christmas 2010 and had a ton of snow, and a blast! Don’t get much snow down here in Albuquerque. 😦

    • Heh, yes, it’s shocked me a few times too honestly. Keeps us alert! 🙂

      If you like, I can box up some snow and ship it to you next time we get some. I’m sure we’ll have plenty eventually. 😉

      • If you can send snow days, too, that’d be great! I really miss being snowed in out in the country, starting a big roaring fire, and drinking cocoa, snacking, and playing Euchre all day long.

      • Yeah, funny, it seems to me… perhaps I’m not watching closely, but it seems like there are fewer and fewer snowdays as of late. Since they started having to make them up in the summer there just aren’t nearly as many…

  5. Ha…neat…that “Christmas Tree” is similar to one that the South Koreans have up near the border of North Korea and was declared a psychological weapon.

    http://www.omg-facts.com/view/Facts/47671

  6. Nandini

    Loved all these photographs. Especially the Christmas lights bokeh. Too good! 🙂

  7. I love your combination of beauty and humor. It makes the reader smile on at least two levels. I had no second thoughts as I rated this, “excellent.”

  8. Great nighttime shots. I like the “christmas shape” reference.

  9. I love the photos and the way the lights define the photos. I wish I had a better camera. I am using a Kodak Easy Share. It was a gift and I am very grateful to have it. I just do the best I can with it while dreaming of someday having something better.

    I did not know that WordPress had a multi blog theme like this. Very interesting. I seldom stray from the theme I am using because it takes so long to get a theme setup and some themes take away from what I already have and switching back does not restore it.

    • Well, WordPress actually DOESN’T have such a theme. I just started three blogs and linked them together at the menus. It’s not erally optimal but it does keep the subscribers less confused. No use confusing the photo people with the other stuff unless they really want it!

  10. Your “man-ification” (made that up) of bokeh is hilarious! I can hear the voice even. 🙂
    Hey, I have a question for you, since you clearly take (and keep!) a ton of pictures. What’s your photo management strategy? Do you just put them all to Flickr, keep any on your computer, print them all and cover the walls (and outside and roof) of your house…? I’m struggling with staying on top of the mass of photos. Thanks. -k http://twyste.com

    • I’m tempted to record myself saying “blurry shit” and post it on here. 🙂

      Ugh. The dreaded photo management question. Well, the truth is that I actually do a REALLY poor job of this. I back up absolutely everything to Picasa: http://picasaweb.google.com/slavenrm
      but I would NOT recommend Picasa to ANYONE. EVER. I would move to Flickr but I’m far, far too lazy to move 7000 photos. So I’m just sort of… accumulating… yes, that’s a nice word for it. Accumulating thousands of photos that I will one day (read: never) organize properly. If I had to give you one piece of advice though.. ORGANIZE NOW. It only gets harder and harder as you get more crap until you’re like me and just quietly trying to ignore the fact that you really SHOULD do something with all this stuff. 🙂

    • oh, and when you come up with the perfect system…. TELL ME ALL ABOUT IT! 🙂

  11. denverlori

    blurry shit!!! LOL! btw.. FABULOUS picts!

  12. Nice series, Rob. These shots make me miss Indy enough to go back for a visit…just not in winter! 🙂 I’ve always thought Indianapolis was an interesting beautiful city. There are some wonderful homes near the downtown area.

    • Oh! I forgot to mention that I actually like the out-of-focus version of the skyline best. The one that’s sharply focused is nice, but I like the way the lights flare in the one that’s not focused.

      • Yeah, what’s funny is that that was actually accidental. I kept it in final sorting out because it struck me as better too. So yeah, I’m with ya. All the more proof, I suppose, that I’m only about 20% responsible for whatever comes out of the camera. LOL.. 🙂

    • Well if you ever do then look me up. Wouldn’t recommend trying to come in around February though. 🙂

  13. All great pictures. I especially like how you captured the moon.

  14. Is the Victory Fie across from the Marriott by any chance? I spent a week in Indy this past Spring at a conference. I rained a lot…Neat pictures!

  15. Beautiful night shots. Congratulations.
    My favorites are the second to the composition and the lines and the skyline out of focus.
    I hope to meet you soon on my blog…

  16. Hey, thanks for stopping by the empty nest and liking my post. Enjoyed your photos!

  17. Love the blurry christmas shit! 🙂

  18. Excellent night photos, good luck with that 38 hours a week for 5 years goal! 😉

  19. Love your shots of the S&S monument. I grew up in Indiana and it brings back memories. And that’s good bokeh!

  20. I like the term ‘blurry shit’ too. The word bokeh never sounds right to me. Like I’ve only said part of a word or something. Blurry shit has much more substance.

  21. Stunning photos and I love the beatiful Christmas shape and your sense of humor when focusing! 🙂

  22. These are all quite beautiful. I really like your out of focus pictures. Out of focus pictures warm my heart a bit.

Please leave a comment!

