Lafayette, IN – 8/24/2011

Yesterday my random trip of the day was around downtown Lafayette. I’ve hit this particular bit of the state before but this was handy so I took a chance to revisit. At some point I’ll be motivated enough to go back and compare these pics to the previous set from a couple years ago.

For some reason I’ve always had a fascination with fire escapes. Perhaps it’s the implied drama of their possible use or just their antiquated appearance. Whatever the case, Lafayette has a few nice examples.

From 2011-08-24

It’s amusing to me to find a meter that has dials ranging from millions of some unit all the way down to half units.

From 2011-08-24

These guys hang over the doorway of a local downtown eatery. They’ve long lost their lanterns but they’re still exceptionally creepy. That look of sympathy makes me wonder just what sort of terrible thing will happen to you if you attempt to eat here.

From 2011-08-24

I love too those old buildings that have the date worked right into the woodwork but if I lived here I’d feel pretty bad about putting a window A/C unit in such a historical bit of town. Well, for a while, until it hit about 95 degrees.

From 2011-08-24

One of the most photographed bits of town.

From 2011-08-24

When I see this guy, I think of Transformers. Interesting societal penetration considering that I never saw the movies.

From 2011-08-24

These guys look REALLY freaked out. Perhaps they’re afraid of heights?

From 2011-08-24

I was excited to find this one. Reminds me of the days when the fire department wouldn’t come to your house unless you’d bought insurance and had your house properly marked.

From 2011-08-24

This downtown restaurant’s demeanor really makes me want to eat there. And to eat exactly what I’m told to.

From 2011-08-24
From 2011-08-24

The decor at this eatery makes me believe that I don’t own clothing nice enough to allow me to eat here.

From 2011-08-24

OK, really? Who picks up after their dog in the manner pictured? If we had to do things this way I maintain that nobody would own a dog. Ever.

From 2011-08-24

I love brick and ivy too. The vine moving across the transition in masonry work represents to me the continuity of nature over the flux and change of mankind.

From 2011-08-24

And we close with the newest wind-power in the area. The city buses are electric and thanks to these mills, don’t need the grid to keep running.

From 2011-08-24
24 Comments

Filed under Lafayette, Oddities, Urban Photography

24 responses to “Lafayette, IN – 8/24/2011

  1. Your “transformer” bug reminds me of one I took of a praying mantis with my iPhone using Instagram! I love it. Check out my picture and see if you see the family resemblance! 🙂

    Praying mantis

    A post shared by Kelly de Vries (@kdevries) on

  2. Yeah, fire escapes… To me they always look like such an after-thought to the building… And that’s what amazes me about them — that allowing everyone, or anyone, to survive a building fire was an after-thought… This for me makes fire escapes even more powerful imagery.

    Wow! Those statues DO look afraid of heights! That is awesome! Great photo! They’re like, “Oh no…”, “Oh crap!”, and “Oh dear…”

    I’ve seen people cleaning up after their dogs in that manner in my neighborhood. Often using a disposable plastic glove to reach down and bag it. That allows them to fully experience the… experience, but without the smelly consequences…

    The ivy on the bricks… yeah. Similar to your interpretation, I see it as evidence of just how persistent and ready nature is to reclaim all that man has wrought…

    • ha! Oh No, Oh Crap, Oh Dear… I like it.

      As for the dogs… it looks on the sign as if he’s waiting to catch it before it even hits the ground.

      And yes, nature will crush us in the end and for some reason…. that’s just very, very satisfying to think about. 🙂

  3. What interesting buildings – such history! LOVE those signs, hilarious!! 😀

  4. Thanks for the picture tour of Lafayette.

  5. that transformer bug looks really amazing!
    good picture! 😀

  6. I love how you capture interesting details and tell their story too.

  7. thanks for the gorgeous pictures and the humor

  8. I love the Perrin Building shot, and I’m with you when it comes to fire escapes. Great stuff.

  9. OK, I’ll admit that I don’t pick up my dog Cooper’s poop this way, but did you ever have to get a urine sample from a dog? They do not simply go into the bathroom and pee in a cup. Trust me on that one.

  10. These pics are really cool… Also thanks for liking my post…

  11. I enjoyed all the of pictures, and also the bits of humor. Thanks for sharing.

  12. The photo of the statue hanging over the eatery is a super creepy looking one, you’re right that the sympathetic face is a little strange and kind of gives me this feeling of, “Good luck, bub, if you eat here!”

  13. Nandini

    Great post with some beautiful and fun photos. Really enjoyed the bug one. 🙂

  14. Ben

    Love the shot of the tracks. Nicely done.

Please leave a comment!

