Random Photos for 12/26 through 12/29 2011

Well, it’s been one of those periods in which I’ve certainly taken lots of photos but not really had much of a theme to tie anything together. As such there’s not a ton of inspiration to empty the camera at the end of the day. Critical mass was reached yesterday, however, so here you have it. Anyone wanting the album without the commentary can just go look at the photos in Picassa.

Lafayette is full of all sorts of wonderful hidden nooks and/or crannies. Get engaged to a townie and you’ll find out what I mean. The day after Christmas we took ourselves unto Prophet’s Rock where … well, as the website for such things puts it:

This rock, overlooking Burnett’s Creek, is where Tecumseh’s brother, Lowawluwaysica, The Prophet, sang to encourage his warriors during the fight against William Henry Harrison’s soldiers at the Battle of Tippecanoe, November 7, 1811. The Prophet’s Rock is located just west of the Battlefield on Prophets Rock Road.

I will say that in the event I”m called upon to battle a much larger and better-armed force I too am very likely to say, “Um, yeah, guys, you go ahead. I’ll just hang out here and sing to inspire you!”

As a geological structure though, it really is hard to do it justice.

Prophet's Rock

Prophet's Rock

And there was just the tiniest touch of interesting fungus this day. I call this fungus “Grandpa’s Toenails”. *shiver*

Grandpa's Toenails

Grandpa's Toenails

Yesterday was only mildly better. I found some old puffballs far past their primes:

Old Puffballs

Old Puffballs

But this find was what made me want to actually decide to download the photos. I think I went a bit overboard with keeping the aperture small as the shutter speed descended to the nutty point of 1.6 seconds. Far too hard to keep the tripod stead for that long on a windy day. At any rate, a decent shot resulted.

Grandpa's Other Toenails

Grandpa's Other Toenails

Grandma's Toenails

Grandma's Toenails

As an end to the day, I went to see the windmills at dusk. Not TERRIBLY pleased with the results but glad at least that I went to the trouble to sit and wait for the sun to set.

Almost Aligned

Almost Aligned

One of these things is not like the others, one of these things is not the same

One of these things is not like the others, one of these things is not the same

Mills at Dusk

Mills at Dusk

Fire at Dusk

Fire at Dusk

And that’s the day that was. Commentary and suggestions welcome as always!

10 Comments

Filed under Art photography, Lafayette, Landscape photography, macro photography, nature Photography

10 responses to “Random Photos for 12/26 through 12/29 2011

  1. “Grandpa’s/Grandma’s Toenails” is such a disgustingly accurate name for that fungus. I like it! And the windmills! Got to love the one in front who just has to be different, right?

    • Yeah, but the toenails thing is one of those that rolls in my head and eventually starts to REALLY gross me out after a while. I’m really wishing that I hadn’t even thought about it. πŸ™‚

  2. Keep in mind where you saw those puffballs and next year go back earlier, when the puffballs are perfect – white flesh throughout. Try this…cut a 1/2 inch thick puffball “steak”, dip it in egg and then in spiced breadcrumbs and fry it for a couple minutes on each side. Or…cut puffball into cubes as you might tofu and use it in a stir-fry. Giant puffballs are pleasant, mild fungus. Also good are the small pear-shaped puffball and the gem studded puffballs. The rule with the little ones is to slice it in half. It must be solid white flesh throughout. If it looks like there is a mushroom forming withing the pear shape, beware, it is likely a very poisonous amanita button.

    • Yeah, good point; I do need to do my due diligence and record the last places that I saw interesting fungi. Unfortunately, these are no bigger than a dime so even if I happened to be brave enough to eat them they’d take a million of them to make a meal. I’ll be alert though the next time I see a fresh-looking set. Thanks for the tips on identification and making sure I don’t poison myself. πŸ™‚

  3. The juxtaposition of the tree and the wind turbine is stark and impressive. Lovely soft light. I’ll pass on the toenails, thanks Rob.

  4. They may not all be ‘hooked up’ completely, but they are a set of images that I would have loved to make nontheless. Wind turbines for me, particularly the one with the accompanying tree. Thanks for posting.

  5. Themes be damned! You took a ton of pictures of all kinds of cool shit! That’s it’s own reward!

    Congratulations on engagement!

    All the aged toenail references render the fungi… disgusting. Eh, most people think they are anyway, but I try to see them as highly successful creatures and appreciate them on their own terms. Especially as you point out coloration I never noticed! πŸ™‚ But then you go and compare them to dirty ol’ toenails and I just can’t do it! Gaaahhh!!

    Pointing out the alignment in the windmill shot, that I also did not notice, made it a delightful statement on both harmony and individualism. πŸ™‚ See?!? You can use your words for good with your photos! πŸ™‚

Please leave a comment!

