Storyboard – 9/10/2011 – Lebanon and Zionsville, Indiana, USA

The tenth of September was an unusual day in that I found myself in several places at once.  In the morning we sallied forth unto the Zionsville fall festival and in the afternoon I simply awaited what randomness fate bestowed upon me in Lebanon.  As it turns out, fate was kind.

The Zionsville fall festival always features a panoply of pets in need of adoption and this toothsome beasty was among them. If this look doesn’t say “adopt me and take me home”… well, it doesn’t. But he is what he is.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

Ferrets were also in evidence at the festival. The man said that they had almost 80 ferrets at their shelter awaiting adoption. That seems like a ton. I had no idea the underground market for ferrets was so large.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

The trip to Lebanon started out pretty standard… “Oh, there’s the courthouse… *yawn*”…

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

Boy. That is boring. The plastic owl has hung himself.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

One thing I realized on this trip is that in many cases people WANT to be photographed. The antique shop owner seemed really glad to have me and even showed me her Mortimer Snerd ventriloquist dummy. Unfortunately, when I saw him he was indisposed… I wonder if there would be a market for toilet pillows?

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

In many ways, I’m glad that this sign is forgotten and faded.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

It was about this time that I spotted the urban blight between the old Boone County jail and the neighboring building.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

Um…. really? Sexy phone home, I guess.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

This was simple but I liked it. The empty socket, the contrast of not only color but material… Also the shadows played well in my mind…

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

And there was even more blight in the building behind the jail.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana
From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

So after the blight, I happened upon a music store tucked away in the corner of the square. After a brief discussion with the proprietor (which is quite against my natural tendencies; I don’t talk to strangers) I got to photograph his wares.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

Lighting was really tough, but I felt like I got a few shots that really set an interesting mood.

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

After an hour in the music store, I made myself back into the daylight. I’m still surprised that they have to actually SAY this…

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

Not long after I went on my way north and happened upon a park full of sporting activity…

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana
From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

This guy was really giving it up to save the point…

From Misc 09/10/2011 – Zionsville and Lebanon, Indiana

And thus the day ended. Like what you see? Head to Facebook and like Rob Slaven Photography!

15 Comments

Filed under Art photography, Indianapolis, Lebanon, sports photography, Urban Photography

15 responses to “Storyboard – 9/10/2011 – Lebanon and Zionsville, Indiana, USA

  1. Great shots! I can say that because you didn’t include a shot of the Con-Agra distribution warehouse or the Flying J next to it, spent many miserable hours there waiting for loads.

    • ha! Yeah, sometimes it’s good to know what NOT to take a picture of, though I will say sometimes there’s a dark beauty hiding in there somewhere…. deep, deep, deep… oh heck, who am I kidding? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. incaunipocrit

    Reblogged this on Basil Wheel.

  3. LOL… Funny how some of the simplest things can really make me laugh, “The plastic owl has hung himself.” Cute!

  4. I need that golf cart sign in my life. Right with my favorite “Bear Crossing” sign on the highway that cuts through the Muskegon state forest in Michigan!

  5. ok, good…I thought you meant Lebanon, PA for a second..

  6. Love the toothsome beast at the top. That dog has charisma. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great photo set.

  7. You know, your writing is as funny and amusing as your photos are excellent. I can’t decide which aspect of Rob Slaven Photography I like more… I mean:
    ยท If this look doesn’t say “adopt me and take me home”… well, it doesn’t.
    ยท Boy. That is boring. The plastic owl has hung himself.
    Lol and lol!
    And now there is an image in my head that I cannot escape of ET on the selling end of phone sex. Ewww.
    They need signs like that because complete idiots are not prohibited on state highways…

Please leave a comment!

