A Christ for Christmas Eve

Though I don’t subscribe to any religion myself, I do understand the significance of the season for many, many people in the world. In that spirit, I give you a bit of Christ on Christmas Eve.

Christ for Christmas

Christ for Christmas (Click to view or download larger version)

Photographically, this was an utter “gimme.” As I recall, this is one of the very, very few photos I ever took that I liked despite the fact that I never actually got out of the car to take it. Clearly one of those moments when I was just too tired to care and yet fate was kind enough to give it to me anyway despite my sloth.

More broadly speaking from a religious standpoint, I have always puzzled as to why this sort of display isn’t a violation of the 1st commandment?

9 Comments

Filed under Logansport, Urban Photography

9 responses to “A Christ for Christmas Eve

  1. Really? “I am the LORD your God. You shall have no other gods in My presence…” Statue in honor of the one God there, no other gods around…. ? Unless of course statues of Zeus, Ashur, and Amun are on adjacent hills just out of frame… 🙂 But I really am not following at all your thinking that this sort of thing violates that…

    • ha! Well, I see your point but I think it goes into the whole graven images thing too. I don’t honestly know as I haven’t really looked into it sufficiently, but it just strikes me as potentially problematic when this particular artist person ends up at whatever the iconic decisionmaking point is and he’s reminded that he screwed up on a technicality. Clearly one of those things I need to research a bit more.

      • Hey I can see your point but only from one side. I think if the object is being worshiped or prayed to, then it absolutely is against the 1st commandment, even if it’s an image (artists rendition) of our Christ. If it’s there to remind us of the sacrifice He made, and we then become thankful and praying thanks to God and NOT the image, there’s no conflict. I have always been bothered by the touching of images or stones or what have you, that seems to me the people are worshiping the thing, the created thing, and not the Creator of all things. I hope that my explanation makes sense.

      • yeah, it does, and I think you’re right that it does ultimately come down to what it actually being worshiped. As always with religion, it’s a fine line. Since I’m an outsider looking in, I just sorta wonder and scratch my head. Thanks for adding to the discussion. 🙂

      • Mmm, yes, ok graven images. Yeah, I dunno. I grant you that it seems the most glaring contradiction once you look ‘graven’ up and realize it means ‘carved’, but whatever the conflict it must have been resolved millennia ago. Perhaps it was a mistranslation, perhaps sometime during the dark ages? I wonder (speculating here) if it originally was ‘graven images of other gods’…

      • Yeah, the world may never know… Oh well.

  2. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Have a wonderful day.

    Best wishes

    YB & Mrs YB

Please leave a comment!

