Not for the Weak of Heart

It was April and I was at the art museum. So of course what else I would I do but find a very curious but tiny spider to photograph? I have to say that after an hour chasing this around the bridge, I was REALLY Happy with the results.

Spider... Large

Spider... Large (Click the link for the whole album and a full-size download. Scare your friends!)

Anyway, this is the first macro shot I took that really worked out well. I’ve been shooting close-up whenever I could ever since.  And, I’m still a tiny bit creeped out by this photo.

21 Comments

Filed under Indianapolis, macro photography, nature Photography

21 responses to “Not for the Weak of Heart

  1. Great show! Handsome critter!

  2. Oh! Now this is cool! I don’t know how I’d feel encountering this guy personally, but it makes for a fascinating photo! Great shot!

  3. incaunipocrit

    Reblogged this on Basil Wheel.

  4. buddhafulkat

    wow – amazing shot and beautiful creature! the eyes look like jewels!

  5. Nandini

    Yes, for a brave heart! Creepy, but great shot, too too close!

  6. Amazing! I’m learning a lot about insects from your recent batch of close-up images 🙂

  7. Awesome photo! Personally, just thinking of all the mosquitoes this guy has likely sucked the life out of, makes spiders my favorite bugs, hands down. This really is a great photo.

    • Yeah, I heard a stat once… probably made up, that if there were no spiders, the entire planet would be buried in 3 feet of insects. They really do consume a lot of biomass.

  8. What a great image, Rob! He doesn’t creep me out a bit, but then I was taking photos of spiders this summer too, so I’ve gotten used to them. 🙂 Really a great capture!

  9. Wow! Super cool shot, makes me a little queasy though 🙂

  10. The details are wonderful, but it really is a little too creepy to see the larger image..maybe someday I’ll get the courage.

Please leave a comment!

