Found: One birdbath, one chair, one watering can. Suitable for pixie.

One of the great things about photography is that you never quite know what you’re going to find. While traipsing about in a graveyard in Battle Ground, Indiana, Laura and I came upon this odd bit of miniature on the end of a stump. To this day we have no idea what the backstory is.

Battle Ground, Indiana

Battle Ground, Indiana (Click to view the whole album)

The round platform on which everything rests is only about two and a half inches wide. I can’t help but imagine that some child, long ago, left this here as they awaited the burial of some relative or other. Or perhaps it’s only here at the whim of the ghosts that haunt such places.

What odd tidbits have you found on your photographic travels?

16 Comments

Filed under Indiana, Lafayette, Locations, Oddities, photography

16 responses to “Found: One birdbath, one chair, one watering can. Suitable for pixie.

  1. Cin

    Ooh I love mini things! Although that is a strange thing to find in a graveyard.

  2. Why is it that when I read your title I heard John Lee Hooker? “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer…”

  3. Nandini

    Oh wow, these are so cute and tiny. Yeah, some child left them here, just wondering why…
    🙂

    • Yeah, I rather wish I had a camera that I could set not only the exposure on but also the brightness. “Take a picture of this spot 10 years ago” sort of thing. 🙂

  4. That’s a shame Rob it looks like you just missed a little borrowers picnic. I have been after a shot of them ever since I missed the one of a fairy at the end of my garden.

  5. That is so cool. Found items like this are so baffling; there’s a story there. It’s just a matter of figuring out what and maybe writing it!

  6. It’s a lovely vignette you caught there….the beginnings of all sorts of imaginary tales! Curious: is it glued to the circular base? Unless someone had been there recently, I’m surprised the wind/snow etc…wouldn’t have taken it from its resting spot. I love things like this…. thanks for posting.

Please leave a comment!

