Indianapolis War Memorial -or- For those who Served

In early 2009 as I was just starting to learn how to actually operate a camera, I took the first of many, MANY trips to downtown Indy to just see what there was to look at.  Like any big city, it’s filled with it’s random tidbits including several monuments to those who died defending this country from enemies foreign, domestic and sometimes utterly contrived.

Indianapolis War Memorial

Indianapolis War Memorial (click to view the whole album)

Artistically speaking, this one is all about the oddness of the shape for me. The words curving around the center in a way that seems almost incalculable. I feel like the sun flare is a nice touch as well though unintentional since the photo was taken before I knew what a “flare hood” is.

What say you? All opinions welcome whether good, bad or indifferent.

9 Comments

Filed under Indiana, Indianapolis, Locations, photography, Urban Photography

9 responses to “Indianapolis War Memorial -or- For those who Served

  1. I like it and think it’s very effective. The combination of curves and angled straight lines works very well. And the text and dates running up the column give it a real sense of depth. I’m curious how it might look in black & white.

  2. I like it too. I put some pictures of war memorials in Belgium on my blog, but I chose black and white since the weather was so foggy when I took them. But color works here very well.

  3. Wow…great building…love it.

  4. I love the ‘oddness of shape’ as you put it, the curves and lines, plus the moon — a great combination.

  5. denverlori

    beautiful! is that the moon or a little sun glare?

Please leave a comment!

