Williamsport Falls -or- “Isn’t Northern Indiana too flat for Waterfalls?”

One of the great things about traveling randomly is that sometimes you get surprised by things that everybody else already know about.  Case in point: Williamsport, Indiana.  In April of 2009 I was randomly wandering around Williamsport.  It was, after all, another point on the map that I hadn’t photographed.  As I wandered through town I heard the most bizarre susurration and thought to myself, “That sounds like a waterfall… but this is Northern Indiana… and we don’t HAVE those here.” So imagine my surprise when I turned a corner and found one.

Williamsport Falls

Williamsport Falls (click to view the whole album)

Apparently the falls were much bigger and more consistent at one time, but now they are at times entirely dry.  This spot is a great example of the surprises to be found by simple random wandering.  Or, if you choose to look at it differently, the bliss of ignorance for those determined enough to hang on to it.

12 Comments

Filed under Indiana, Landscape photography, Locations, nature Photography

12 responses to “Williamsport Falls -or- “Isn’t Northern Indiana too flat for Waterfalls?”

  1. There’s a few waterfalls in Northern Indiana that I found when I lived in Lafayette. They aren’t very big, but they exist. Nice shot on this one, by the way.

    • Yeah, I keep thinking that someday I’ll get REALLY lucky and find an exhaustive list of all the good local nature spots to photograph. Very possibly I’ll have to do it myself though. What are your suggestions?

      • Rob, Turkey Run State Park is a prime spot for a photographer. I used to spend some time there walking the trails, but that was back in the days before I got re-interested in photography. I would highly recommend it.

  2. The places I used to live in Michigan were filled with great surprises like these! I’m still hoping to find some in the Chicagoland ‘burbs, but they’re a little few and far between! Pictures like this definitely make me miss my random walks through all the woods up there! Love it.

  3. I have a fondness for streams and waterfalls and riffles.

    • Yeah, something about the almost organic nature of them. All the movements, all the implied history and flow of time back and forth. Where were they before? Where are they going? Plus it doesn’t hurt, I suppose, that we humans are mostly water. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I like your composition here, Rob. Great capture.

    • Thanks, though in all honesty I have to call the composition here mostly chance. This the shot I took immediately after discovering the thing so it was very much a matter of “wow, gotta get a picture of THAT!” 🙂

  5. Alternativepoet

    Thanks for stopping off at my place Rob, glad you liked the post~ AP 🙂

  6. I love the idea of turning a corner and just finding a waterfall, Beautifull work Rob

Please leave a comment!

