Recent Photographic Highlights – 9/24/2011

I am more than a bit remiss in my writings on the topic of recent photographic victories. This post will cover several photo outings all in one long post… I love those photos that are just so blasted contradictory. This one makes me just quiver with contradiction. Those strong, metal pipes behind that delicate pink … ahhh…

From 2011-09-24

This sulpture at the IMA is just so brilliantly contradictory with the sylvan surroundings…

From 2011-09-24

In general, I find it distasteful to modify the subject in any way when photographing it. These guys were already dead…

From 2011-09-24
From 2011-09-24
From 2011-09-24

A few days earlier, these mushroom frills caught my attention.

From Misc 9-20-2011

And the contrasting colors of this bug and his pink rose were hard to ignore…

From Misc 9-20-2011

I chased this heron for 30 minutes before I caught this shot that made me literally laugh out loud when I saw it.

From Misc 9-20-2011

Some fairly patient bees were in evidence on this day as well.

From Misc 9-20-2011

From several days before, I love this picture mostly for the colors involved. The spiderweb under the flower also add nicely to the overall theme.

From Misc Nature shots from 9172011

I love the purple flowers and the person in the background who so conveniently happened to be walking along is someone for whom I have great affection.

From Misc Nature shots from 9172011

Grasshoppers don’t sit still very long nor for very often, but this one did. I suspect his patience was mostly due to the season and the impending end of his short little insect life.

From Misc Nature shots from 9172011

On the 12th I had my first photography class and we were to go outside and take some random pictures around the building. I’m fairly certain that I’m the only one who noticed or appreciated this drippy goodness along the school roofline.

From 2011-09-12

Self-portrait in a trash bin.

From 2011-09-12

And so the sun sets and the post ends.

From 2011-09-12
10 Comments

Filed under Indiana, Indianapolis, macro photography, nature Photography, Urban Photography

10 responses to “Recent Photographic Highlights – 9/24/2011

  1. Great photos all around here. And you were taking your first photography class? I bet your photo of the drippy goodness showed the instructor that you already have an eye for this. 🙂 Great post and somewonderful photography. 🙂

  2. Awesome photos Rob! That one with the heron… wow! Well worth the wait to get that shot!

  3. I like your photographs. Your statement that you find it distasteful to modify your subjects in any way caught my attention and I’m curious about that.

  4. What a great capture on the heron and the hapless fish.

  5. This was a great post with some magnificent pictures, Rob! Nice work. It would be hilarious to have the picture of you trying to get a picture of the heron trying to get a fish. The fish could be holding a miniature camera too, who knows.

  6. Pingback: Lilies from the Valley | Rob Slaven Photography

Please leave a comment!

