Of National Parks and Classic Cars

Looking back on the past week or so I realize that I’ve spent a lot of time uploading slightly refined versions of photos previously taken rather than taking anything new. As much as I may enjoy looking back on old holiday snaps, I’ve come to realize over the years that no picture of crater lake…

Crater_Lake_NP_23

… can really do the place justice. While I’m reminiscing joyfully in my head about the place, the rest of the world just says, “oh. lake. Cool…?” Totally understandable. Those determined stalwarts who wish to may check out Crater Lake National Park, Diamond Lake, Oregon, and the Umpqua River. I don’t really expect you to necessarily do so, but as this blog is primarily dedicated to what I’m doing photographically, there’s your answer.

No, what I’m really here to chatter on about is the Zionsville fall festival. As the seasons turn here in Indiana we find ourselves ready to celebrate the coming onslaught of winter. I wandered out see what could be seen on Sunday of last week and ran into a classic car show. I’d rather forgotten how much I adore the visuals at these things. All the wonderful chrome details are just generally dazzling. I need to make a point to get out to more classic car events.

I just can’t get enough of these shiny, gas-guzzling old birds. Even when I was a wee lad I dreamed of owning a 57 Chevy in cherry red. Until, of course, I realized what it would cost to drive a 57 Chevy in cherry red. Ah well.

2013_ZVille_FallFestival_31

2013_ZVille_FallFestival_23

2013_ZVille_FallFestival_15

2013_ZVille_FallFestival_22

And that’s the day that was, more or less. If you’ve got a classic car or anything else that needs photographing drop me a line. I’ll be there with bells on.

PS: Click any photo for a closer look and go look at flickr if you want even more photos.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Of National Parks and Classic Cars

  1. RMW

    Don’t you wish the dashboards of our modern cars still looked like that?

  2. “57 chevy is still one of the coolest cars ever!! But at $3.65+ for gas and a V-8 engine, (357 hp?) I couldn’t afford to run it.. Nice pics and memories though, thanks.

  3. I really like that photo of Crater Lake. And, while I can’t get really excited about cars (it is a guy thing??), I *do* like your photos of those cars.

Please leave a comment!

